About Us

About College

SDM College, Ujire is an autonomous college under Mangalore University. Founded in 1966, the college offers Bachelors and Masters Programmes in a serene campus at the foothills of the Western Ghats in Karnataka (India). The college is a recognized centre for research programmes of Mangalore University, Tumkur University and Kannada University, Hampi. Managed by SDM Educational Society, it is headed by the visionary, Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari of Shri Kshetra Dharmasthala.

Our Emblem

The lotus at the base of the emblem indicates the blossoming of one’s personality while the lighted lamp at the centre symbolizes the burning desire for ‘Knowledge’ and ‘Truth’. The three layers encircling the lamp stand for the essentials of the process of education i.e. ‘Perception’ ‘Knowledge’ and ‘Conduct’ (perception growing into true knowledge and knowledge leading to refined conduct). This is envisioned through the motto of the institution, Samyagdarshana Jnana Charitryani: inculcation of a spirit of inquiry essential for acquiring knowledge that leads to true awareness and moulding of character

SDME Society

Shri Dharmasthala Manjunatheshwara Educational [SDME] Society, Ujire® was established with the primary objective of making education accessible and affordable to the rural youth. With the hallmarked vision: Putting Value into Education, at present, it manages 56 educational institutions from Kindergarten to Doctoral Studies in the state of Karnataka in India. These institutions offer quality education in the fields of General, Law, Technical, Medical and Management Studies. These institutions ensure quality through updated skill sets and value based education.

Our President

The Dharmaadhikari of Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala, Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade is a multi-faceted personality who combines in him many roles. Being the head of a religious institution that draws millions, he is the dispenser of justice. The tradition of Chaturvida Daanaparampara (Four types of Charity: Annadana – Free Food, Vidya Daana – Free Education, Aushada Daana – Free Medicine and Healthcare and Abhaya Daana – Succor) finds greater meaning under his able administration of Shri Kshethra. As the president of SDM Educational Society, he is the guiding spirit and driving force behind the institution’s run. The Society under his guidance, runs more than 50 educational institutions – Kindergarten to the Doctoral studies – in the fields like Technical, Medical, Management Law and General Higher Education – across the state of Karnataka in India. He established Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala Rural Development Project (SKDRDP), which has transformed the hapless rural people into empowered individuals. Rural Development and Self Employment Training Institutes (RUDSETI) established nationwide by him have brought smiles on the faces of countless unemployed youth. Shri Dharmasthala Siri Gramodyoga Samsthe (SIRI), yet another social welfare organisation established by Dr Heggade, has provided a means of honourable existence to many rural people, especially women. Many awards and recognitions came in search of him for his untiring contributions to the welfare of the society. To name a few, he is the recipient of Ashden International Gold Award, London, which is also considered as the Green Oscar and Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award in India.

Our Principal

Dr. Satheeshchandra S, the functioning Principal of SDM College Ujire has been one of the building blocks of the institution, as he has served at the college since 1986. With 33 years of teaching experience, he took up the position of Principal of SDMC Ujire on 1st of June, 2019.

Dr. Satheeshchandra S graduated from Mangalore University and pursued his Masters in Physics at the same institute until 1985. He specializes in Nuclear Physics, and his ardent interest in research in the area reflects in the 3 international papers he has published. He is also finished his Ph.D from Tumkur University.

Before assuming the post of Principal, Dr. Satheeshchandra S has served as HOD of Physics, Dean of Science, Vice Principal of the College and also a State Level awarded NSS Officer. Alongside academics, he also takes keen interest in sports and agriculture which contribute to his excelling personality.

Dr. Satheeschandra has been awarded the Ph.D in under for his research titled ‘Synthesis, Growth and Structural investigation of π-Conjugated non-linear optical materials.’ He was guided by Nandakumar M Shetti.

Read More

Vision and Mission

Our Vision

  • Empowerment through competency building with ethical foundation

Our Mission

  • Providing infrastructural facilities to meet the contemporary needs
  • Inculcating the spirit of inquiry
  • Adopting learner centered approach
  • Empowering teaching, learning and evaluation through effective use of ICT
  • Practicing fair and just methods of assessment and evaluation
  • Enhancing growth opportunities for employability
  • Sustaining transparency in institutional governance
  • Fostering value practices and social responsibility
  • Focusing on continuous improvement through comprehensive feedback

Core Values

  • Not to take success for granted and not to be complacent
  • Not to rest on laurels
  • Not to slow down or give up
  • To add values to the work and try to be creative
  • To keep the learning curve moving vertically

Institutional Ethos

Institutional Best Practices are evolved based on the values upon which the institution is built. The college was established with the motto of Samyak Darshana Jnana Charitryani, meaning Right Perspective, Right Knowledge and Right Conduct. Hence, the best practices of the college are aligned with the inculcation of these values among the learners through various initiatives and activities. Carbon neutral campus, energy conservation and alternative uses of energy, green cover and botanical gardens, water conservation, management of hazardous waste, reduction in the use of plastic products, rain water harvesting, organic waste management, use of solar energy are some of the best practices in the campus. In addition to these, the college introduced innovations in curricular and co-curricular activities, social responsibility series, optimum utilization of the library facilities, and promotion of research culture in the campus through various initiatives.

Governing Body of the College


Admissions open for 2021-22 batch  

Apply Here