Department of History

Established in 1966

One of the hallmarks of the department since its inception is its contribution in deciphering the inscriptions available locally. With experienced faculties, the students are provided with field-studies of historical sites and are introduced to the subjects like epigraphy, iconography and archeology. The department under Prakrith Study Centre guides the students to learn the ancient languages like Tulu and Prakrith.

Highlights of the Department

  • One year Prakrith Diploma and two-year Prakrith Ratna courses by Bahubali Prakrith Vidyapeetha, National Institute of Prakrith Studies and Research, affiliated to Mysore University, Manasagangothri Mysore.
  • A weeklong Programme, on ‘conservation of historical monuments and tradition’ in the month of August in association with Karnataka Ithihasa Academy.
  • Certificate course on Tulu, language and literature

Did You Know ?

"The Anglo-Zanzibar war of 1896 is the shortest war on record lasting an exhausting 38 minutes" .

Association & Activities
Community Orientation
Research Output
Scheme & Syllabus

Association & Activities

  • A week long programme on creating awareness about our tradition and conservation of
  • Historical monuments for one week from 15 th of August every year.
  • Visit to Historical sites and studying the monuments there
  • Arranging special Guest Lectures on allied subjects of History like Epigraphy and archeology.

Community Orientation

  • Department conducts the study of ancient monuments at historical sites.
  • Create awareness in the society regarding the values of conservation of monuments and inscriptions through a week long programme in the month of August every year Copying and studying inscriptions Interpreting icons and sculptures Study of old coins.

Research Output

  • The faculty undertakes research projects and publish papers.
  • Research Projects has been made mandatory for students  


The Department has signed an MoU with the following organisations for undertaking educational programmes for the benefit of the students and the public.

  • Karnataka Ithihasa Academy, Bangalore (07-07-2009)
  • Rani Abbakka Tulu Adhyana Kendra, Bantwal (10-07-2009)
  • Shri Dhavalatraya Trust, Shrimathi Ramarani Jaina Shodha Samsthan of Shri Jaina Mutt, Jaina Kashi, Moodabidre  (18-08-2009)
  • The Bahubali Prakrit Vidyapeetha, The National Institute of Prakrit Studies and Research, Shri Dhavala Teertham, Shravanabelgola,
Admissions 2020-21 Register Now