Ujire SDM College NSS Unit, Program Officer Awarded State Prize

The National Service Scheme (NSS) unit of Sri Dharmasthala Manjunatheshwara College in Ujire has been awarded the 2021-22 State Prize for Best NSS Unit. The unit’s program officer, Dr. Lakshminarayana K.S., has been awarded the Best Program Officer recognition. The award was presented by Karnataka Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot at a ceremony held at the Banquet Hall of Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.

College Principal Dr. B.A. Kumar Hegde (Best NSS Unit) and Dr. Lakshminarayana K.S. (Best NSS Program Officer) received the award. Commerce Department Lecturer Harish Shetty was present at the event on behalf of the college. The NSS unit of Ujire SDM College has previously won one national award and ten state awards for Best National Service Unit. It has also won six university-level awards. Dr. Lakshminarayana K.S. is an assistant professor in the Commerce Department of Ujire SDM College. He was appointed as the college’s NSS program officer in 2019 and held the responsibility for four consecutive years till July 7, 2023.